2018 Pioneer Award



The Pioneer Award recognizes an interprofessional practice and education pioneer for the foundational role they have played in advancing the field. 

In 2018, the Pioneer Award was given to the Founding Partners of the National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education, in recognition of their groundbreaking and innovative investment in the field of interprofessional practice and education in the United States.

The Founding Partners are:

  • Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
  • Health Resources and Services Administration
  • The Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation
  • Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

George E. Thibault, MD, immediate past president of the Macy Foundation, accepted the award on behalf of the founders.

George Thibault at podium
George Thibault and Barbara Brandt